News SPORTS NEWS

World Cup 2022 draw: Ghana meet Portugal and Uruguay again while Spain face Germany

he draw for the 2022 World Cup takes place today at 19:00 local time in Doha, Qatar, as the group stage for the 32 nations is announced. Of the 32 teams involved, only 29 have been confirmed, as two intercontinental play-off matches will take place in June, while in Europe one of Wales, Scotland or Ukraine will book their place at the tournament, too. Stay with us for all the build-up to the World Cup draw ceremony, followed by the draw itself.

World Cup 2022 draw

This is the start of our live blog for the World Cup 2022 draw, so you can follow all the updates below, with the ones closest to the top being the most recent.

Group A

Qatar

Ecuador

Senegal

Netherlands

Group B

England

Iran

USA

European playoff

Group C

Argentina

Saudi Arabia

Mexico

Poland

Group D

France

Intercontinental playoff 1

Denmark

Tunisia

Group E

Spain

Intercontinental playoff 2

Germany

Japan

Group F

Belgium

Canada

Croatia

Morocco

Group G

Brazil

Serbia

Switzerland

Cameroon

Group H

Portugal

Ghana

Uruguay

South Korea

08:30 PT/11:30 PT: Almost there

The draw is just moments away. A reminder that Qatar, as the hosts of this World Cup, have been placed in Pot One with some of the tournament’s favourites, including England, France, Brazil and Argentina.

07:40 PT/10:40 ET: Ronaldo and Messi set for historic fifth World Cup

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo could make history by becoming part of a select group of players who have managed to participate in as many as five World Cup competitions. Both Argentina and Portugal have clinched qualification to the 2022 World Cup, and the two stars are expected to feature in the competition if they stay healthy.

07:00 PT/10:00 ET: Is this Messi tattoo real?

As part of an advert for Adidas, Lionel Messi has revealed a new World Cup-inspired tattoo ahead of Qatar 2022. Is it real?

06:30 PT/09:30 ET: Which players will miss out on the World Cup?

The likes of Italy, Colombia, Austria, Algeria, Egypt, Sweden and Norway have all missed out on qualifying for the 2022 World Cup, so that means Erling Haaland, Mohamed Salah and some of football’s biggest stars will have to watch on as some of their club teammates take part. L’Equipe have put together this XI of the best players that will not be in Qatar in November.

06:00 PT/09:00 ET: Who is doing the World Cup draw?

There will be eight former players and managers who will be conducting the draw later, with these being: Cafu (Brazil), Lothar Matthaus (Germany), Jay-Jay Okocha (Nigeria), Tim Cahill (Australia), Adel Ahmed MalAllah (Qatar), Ali Daei (Iran), Bora Milutinovic (Serbia/Mexico) and Rabah Madjer (Algeria).

05:30 PT/08:30 ET: World Cup song

The song ‘Hayya Hayya (Better Together)’ is the first to be released from the multi-song World Cup official soundtrack.

Read more here about the World Cup song for Qatar 2022.

05:00 PT/08:00 ET: World Cup odds

The current favourite to win the World Cup, according to Sky Bet, is Brazil, with France, England, Spain and Germany rounding out the top five. Perhaps surprisingly, Lionel Messi’s Argentina are currently the sixth favourite to lift the famous trophy.

04:30 PT/07:30 ET: The USA will be present

The United States men’s national team failed to qualify for the last World Cup, but they have booked their place in the 2022 edition and will be part of the draw today. As narrated by former USMNT goalkeeper Tim Howard, they have recovered from the disappointment of four years ago and can now begin to think about what is to come in November of this year.

04:00 PT/07:00 ET: England’s Declan Rice is confident

England go into today’s World Cup draw as one of the favourites to go on and lift the trophy for the first time since 1966, and star midfielder Declan Rice has made clear that the Three Lions are backing themselves going into the draw.

03:30 PT/06:30 ET: The FIFA world rankings

The latest FIFA world rankings have been announced, with Brazil returning to the No.1 spot for the first time in five years. Mexico have also risen three places and now find themselves in the top 10.

03:00 PT/06:00 ET: The four pots

The 32 spots at the World Cup have been split into four pots based on FIFA’s most recent world rankings, as well as rewarding those who secured a place as one of the seeded teams. Qatar, as the hosts of this World Cup, have been placed in Pot One with some of the tournament’s favourites, including England, France, Brazil and Argentina.

source: marca.com

Related posts

Meet the Ghanaians who will feature in La Liga this season

Richmond Addy

Prophet Reveals Identity Of Two People Who ‘Killed’ Ebony

Richmond Addy

I am not Anas: Legon student whose picture was shown by Kennedy Agyapong to drag him to court

Richmond Addy